Brand's performance
18.8
/100
Unsatisfactory
Unsatisfactory
Satisfaction Index over the past 12 months.
Response Rate
10.8%
Average Response Time
0%
Solution Rate
11.1%
Average Ratings
41%
Customer Retention Rate
60%
Category ranking
TV Channels
1 DStv 18.8
2 SABC 1.5
MultiChoice Group Ltd
Is this your company? Click here

DStv - Dstv misleading company selling their products

No resolution
1/10
avril ventress
avril ventress filed the complaint
23 September 2023
I RECEIVED CALL FROM COMPANY SAID WAS DSTV I HAVE BEEN WITH DSTV FOR MANY YEARS AND HAVE BEEN THINKING OF GETTING EXPLORA DECODER I WAS GLAD THEY PHONED THEY OFFERED ME A DEAL OVER 24 MONTHS WHICH WAS ACCEPTABLE . THE DECODER WAS DULY DELIVERED AND I SIGNED THE DELIVERY NOTE. SUBSEQUENTLY I GOT SMS FROM ABSA BANK ASKING ME TO AGREE TO DEBIT ORDER FOR 245 PER MONTH FOR ONAIR I DID NOT KNOW WHAT TO MAKE OF THIS AS I WAS UNDER THE IMPRESSION THE AMOUNT WOULD BE ADDED TO MY DSTV ACCOUNT DEBIT ORDER. I SUBSEQUENTLY DISCOVERED THAT IT WAS IN FACT ANOTHER COMPANY WHO WORK WITH DSTV DECODERS BUT CHARGE A LOT MORE APPROXIMATELY DOUBLE. I PHONED DSTV A FEW WEEKS LATER AS I HAD NOT GOT THE ROUTER DATA UPGRADED BEFORE THAT AND LEFT THE EDECODER UNOPENED IN THE PACKAGE. DSTV TOLD ME THE STORY AND SAID THEY WOULD PHONE ONAIR AND ASK THEM TO PICK UP THE EXPLORA. APPARENTLY ONAIR REFUSED TO DO THIS AND I KEEP GETTING MESSAGES TO PAY. I TOLD THEM THE STORY AND AM STILL HAVING PROBLEMS. I FEEL THAT THIS WAS VERY MISLEADING IN THE FIRST PLACE AND HONESTLY THINK THAT THE LAWS THAT ALLOWS PEOPLE TO MAKE A CONTRACT OVER THE PHONE SHOULD BE CHANGED AS IT CAN CAUSE A LOT OF PROBLEMS. AT LEAST IT SHOULD BE MANDATORY THAT IT IS CONFIRMED IN WRITING ON EMAIL OR WHATSAPP WHICH IS LEGAL SO THE PERSON CONCERNED CAN CONFIRM WHAT THEY ARE SIGNING UP FOR.
Incident date: 23 September 2023
avril ventress
22 October 2023
i am extremely disappointed that DSTV has NOT bothered to respond to my problem. By allowing
ONAIR dstv to use the DSTV INTRODUCTION ON THE PHONE it is confusing for people and like myself i am sure
there are other customers who have been misled with this wording. they are charging double the amount for the same product that MULTICHOICE dstv has to offer. your customer care department said they would ask them to collect the Explora from me. but i have never heard anything nor do i get any kind of assistance from ONAIR DSTV. I would suggest that you try and assist with a solution and do not allow ONAIR to use the DSTV NAME AS A CALL INTRODUCTION FOR GAINING CLIENTS. I really think Multichoice that i have been with for many years sholuld try and assist with a solution. ESPECIALLY SINCE I AM TOLD THAT YOU HAVE AN ALLIANCE WITH ONAIR
avril ventress
22 October 2023
BAD P[UBLIC RELATIONS FROM DSTV MULTICHOICE
avril ventress
22 October 2023
STILL WAITING FOR MULTICHOICE TO HELP RESOLVE THIS MATTER WITH THEIR ALLIANCE WITH ONAIR DSTV
avril ventress
22 October 2023
STILL WAITING FOR MULTICHICE TO RESPOND TO HELP SOLVE THE PROBLEM WITH THE ALLIANCE THEY HAVE WITH ONAIR DSTV
avril ventress
avril ventress rated the brand
26 December 2023

DSTV SAYS THEY HAVE ,MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT ONAIR DSTV AS A MISLEADING NAME THAT CAUSES PROBLEMS WHERE CLIENTS ARE MISTAKEN WITH THE ORIGINAL DSTV MULTICHOIICE AND ONAIR DSTV IS IN MY OPINIUON VERY UNCOMMUNMICATIVE AND MOST OF THEIR PHONE NUMBERS DONT WORK. ALSO THEY ARE MUCH MORE EXPENSIUVE THAT DSTV MULTICHOICE WITH THE SAME PRODUCTS

This complaint has been considered as not resolved.
Comments
8 October 2023

i have not received any reply to the complaint made about the explora that i was sent by onair DSTV
I AM TRYING TO GET A RESOLUTION FOR THIS AND I KNOW YOUR COMPANY WORKS WITH ONAIR SO SURELY YOU CAN HELP RESOLVE THIS MATTER. I WOULD BE INTERESTED TO FIND OUT HOW MUCH THE ORIGINAL DSTV CHARGES FOR AN OUTRIGHT PURCHASE OF THE EXPLORA AS IT MAY BE BETTER TO PAY FOR IT COMPLETELY THAN OVER TWO YEARS. CAN YOU PLEASE CONTACT ME IN THIS REGARD AS HOPEFULLY ONAIR WILL ACCEPT A SOLUTION IN THIS REGARD
PLESE LET ME KNOW ASAP S I WANT TO GET NETFLIX AND BRITBOX WITH YOURSELVES BUT CANNOT DO UNTIL THE EPXLORA SITUATION IS SORTED OUT . I HAVE BEEN WITH YOU FOR MANY YEARS AND NEVER MISSED ONE PAYMENT
REGARDS AVRIL VENTRESS

9 October 2023

kindly reply to this to get it resolved